Книга: Eastland Sam «The Elegant Lie»

The Elegant Lie

Производитель: "Faber and Faber"

The year is 1949. In the bombed-out ruins of Cologne, Hanno Dasch is king. Director of the most successful black market operation in post-war Germany, Dasch has kept his clients supplied with goods so extravagant and rare that they were almost impossible to find even at the height of Germany`s conquests. Nobody but Dasch, his enigmatic daughter and the war criminal he keeps as his bodyguard know how he does it. None of this has escaped the attention of Allied Intelligence, who face not only the systemic corruption of a country where everything is in short supply, but the growing threat of Stalin`s KGB. Fearing that Dasch will soon expand his business to include dealings with Russia, and invite the further meddling of Russian agents in the west, the CIA sets in motion an undercover operation to infiltrate and, ultimately, destroy Dasch`s empire. A disgraced American Army officer, Nathan Carter, is recruited to approach Dasch and to ingratiate himself with promises of stolen army supplies. As Carter moves further and further into the labyrinth of Dasch`s world, it soon becomes clear that the black market ring has already been compromised, but by someone even more dangerous than the Russians. Carter stumbles upon a counterfeiting ring, with whom Dasch has unwittingly gone into business, which seems to have been created with the sole purpose of destroying the Soviet economy, something it could easily do with the superlative quality of the forged bills it is producing. With Carter caught in the middle, and facing the danger that his cover might be blown at any moment, a race begins between the Russian and American spy agencies to uncover who is responsible, before the situation escalates to war.

Издательство: "Faber and Faber" (2019)

ISBN: 978-0-571-33569-5

Купить за 1124 грн (только Украина) в

Другие книги автора:

КнигаОписаниеГодЦенаТип книги
Siberian RedSeptember 1939. The Second World War Has Begun. Even as the fighting rages in Poland, Stalin's long time obsession with the missing treasure of Tsar Nicholas II is rekindled. An informant claims to… — Faber and Faber, - Подробнее...2012764бумажная книга
Red IconA big satisfying Stalin-era thriller from the master of the genre, the perfect read for fans of Phillip Kerr, Erik Larson or Robert Harris. The German Army begins to shatter before the advancing… — Faber and Faber, Inspector Pekkala Подробнее...2016634бумажная книга
Red IconA big satisfying Stalin-era thriller from the master of the genre, the perfect read for fans of Phillip Kerr, Erik Larson or Robert Harris. The German Army begins to shatter before the advancing… — Faber and Faber, Inspector Pekkala Подробнее...2016820бумажная книга
Siberian RedSeptember 1939. The Second World War Has Begun. Even as the fighting rages in Poland, Stalin`s long time obsession with the missing treasure of Tsar Nicholas II is rekindled. An informant claims to… — Faber and Faber, Подробнее...2012878бумажная книга
The Red MothAs Hitler's forces smash into Soviet territory, annihilating the Red Army divisions in its path, a lone German scout plane is forced down. Contained within the briefcase of its passenger is the… — Faber and Faber, - Подробнее...2013764бумажная книга
The Red MothAs Hitler`s forces smash into Soviet territory, annihilating the Red Army divisions in its path, a lone German scout plane is forced down. Contained within the briefcase of its passenger is the… — Faber and Faber, Подробнее...2013975бумажная книга
The Elegant LieThe year is 1949. In the bombed-out ruins of Cologne, Hanno Dasch is king. Director of the most successful black market operation in post-war Germany, Dasch has kept his clients supplied with goods… — Faber and Faber, - Подробнее...2019869бумажная книга

См. также в других словарях:

  • The Vatican —     The Vatican     † Catholic Encyclopedia ► The Vatican     This subject will be treated under the following heads:     I. Introduction; II. Architectural History of the Vatican Palace; III. Description of the Palace; IV. Description of the… …   Catholic encyclopedia

  • The public scandal of the Dreyfus Affair — The scandal over falsely accused Alfred Dreyfus grew into a public scandal of unprecedented scale. Almost the entire french nation became divided between pro and anti Dreyfusards.Attitude of the pressAgainst this odious campaign was set in motion …   Wikipedia

  • The Howard Stern Show — 2006 promotional image. Genre Talk, comedy, entertainment Running time 4 hours Country United States …   Wikipedia

  • The Oracle (novel) — The Oracle , with the United States title The Oracle Betrayed , is a young adult fantasy novel by Catherine Fisher, first published in 2003. The Oracle is the first of the Oracle Prophecies Trilogy . The others are The Archon (2004) and The… …   Wikipedia

  • The Idler (1758–1760) — This article is about the 18th century series of essays. For other publications called The Idler, see The Idler (disambiguation). The Idler was a series of 103 essays, all but twelve of them by Samuel Johnson, published in the London weekly the… …   Wikipedia

  • The Kill — Infobox Single Name = The Kill (Bury Me/Rebirth) Artist = 30 Seconds to Mars from Album = A Beautiful Lie Released = Flagicon|Europe January 24 2006 (re release) Format = CD Recorded = 2004 Genre = Alternative rock Post hardcore Length = 3:51… …   Wikipedia

  • The Wack Pack — Articleissues notability = July 2008 article = y citations missing = February 2007 weasel = January 2007 fansite = April 2008 OR = April 2008 cleanup = October 2007The Wack Pack is the name given to a wide assortment of regular guests of The… …   Wikipedia

  • The Miller's Tale — For the 1996 rock album, see The Miller s Tale: A Tom Verlaine Anthology. The character Miller from The Miller s Prologue and Tale The Miller s Tale (Middle English: The Milleres Tale) is the second of Geoffrey Chaucer s Canterbury Tales (1380s… …   Wikipedia

  • The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire — This article is about the book. For the historical event, see Decline of the Roman Empire. For publication details and chapter listings, see Outline of The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. The History of the Decline and Fall… …   Wikipedia

  • The L.A. — Infobox Television episode Colour = #ffaa44 Series = The O.C. Title = The L.A. Season = 1 (2003 2004) Caption = Marissa, Ryan, Summer Seth Episode = 22 Airdate = March 24, 2004 (FOX) Writer = Josh Schwartz Director = David M. Barrett Production …   Wikipedia

  • The Shining —    1) (1977)    Stephen King’s third published novel (it was preceded by Carrie and ’Salem’s Lot) was inspired by a vacation he took with his family in Colorado, late in the summer of 1974. Upon visiting the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, King… …   The Encyclopedia of Stanley Kubrick


Поделиться ссылкой на выделенное

Прямая ссылка:
Нажмите правой клавишей мыши и выберите «Копировать ссылку»