Book: CASEY, SUSAN «VOICES IN THE OCEAN»

VOICES IN THE OCEAN

Since the dawn of recorded history, humans have felt a kinship with the sleek and beautiful dolphin, an animal whose playfulness, sociability, and intelligence seems like an aquatic mirror of mankind. In recent decades, scientists have discovered dolphins recognize themselves in reflections, count, feel despondent, adorn themselves, rescue one another (and humans), deduce, infer, form cliques, throw tantrums, gossip, scheme. Several native peoples trace their lineage to dolphins. They are the stars of multimillion dollar aquatic theme parks, money that has fueled a sinister illicit trade as shown in the documentary Blackfish. The U. S. Navy has a secret program using dolphins as undersea soldiers. The theory that they are a superior, extraterrestial species is popular among the New Age fringe. They are the victims of brutal slaughters as depicted in the documentary The Cove. To swim with a dolphin is a transporting experience, an encounter with a being seemingly so like us, yet so...

ISBN: 9780385537308

Купить за 1904 руб на Озоне

casey

cassie

Источник: casey

Susan

Susan — женское имя.

Встречаются различные варианты транскрипции на русский язык: Сюзана, Сюзан, Сьюзан, Сьюзен, Сьюзи, Сузэн.

Источник: Susan

Другие книги схожей тематики:

АвторКнигаОписаниеГодЦенаТип книги
CASEY, SUSANVOICES IN THE OCEANSince the dawn of recorded history, humans have felt a kinship with the sleek and beautiful dolphin, an animal whose playfulness, sociability, and intelligence seems like an aquatic mirror of… — @ @ @ @ @ Подробнее...2015
1904бумажная книга
Lauren OliverRoomsThe New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry… — @Ecco Press, @(формат: 150x225, 320 стр.) @ @ @ Подробнее...2014
1459бумажная книга
Bill GleggDid You Ever Have a FamilyThis book of dark secrets opens with a blaze. On the morning of her daughter's wedding, June Reid's house goes up in flames, destroying her entire family - her present, her past and her future… — @Jonathan Cape, @(формат: 140x220, 302 стр.) @ @ @ Подробнее...2015
1384бумажная книга

Look at other dictionaries:

  • The Ocean Group — is a production company located in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada that specializes in localizing foreign animation (most often anime) into English, including doing translation, dubbing and subtitling. As of 2005 the group has also started… …   Wikipedia

  • Voices Carry (The 4400 episode) — The 4400 episode Title = Voices Carry Season = 2 Episode = 03 Airdate = June 12, 2005 Writer = Lisa Melamed Director = Vincent Misiano 4400 = Gary Navarro Prev = Wake Up Call Next = Weight Of The World IMDb id = 0502809 Voices Carry is an episode …   Wikipedia

  • Forgotten Voices of the Falklands — Infobox Book name = Forgotten Voices of the Falklands title orig = image caption = author = Hugh McManners illustrator = cover artist = country = UK language = series = Forgotten Voices subject = History genre = Non fiction publisher = Ebury… …   Wikipedia

  • Ocean Productions — Type Private Industry ADR production, Pre production, Post production, Voice recording, Video editing, Video production Genre Animation Founded 1992 He …   Wikipedia

  • The Beatles' influence on popular culture — The Beatles influence on rock music and popular culture was and remains immense. Their commercial success started an almost immediate wave of changes including a shift from US global dominance of rock and roll to UK acts, from soloists to groups …   Wikipedia

  • The Book of Sorrows — is the sequel novel to Walter Wangerin, Jr. s The Book of the Dun Cow. Published by Zondervan in 1985, it was received quite well by such known publications as the Washington post, who called it, A beautifully written fantasy anchored starkly in… …   Wikipedia

  • Ocean Machine: Biomech — Studio album by Devin Townsend Released July 21, 1997 …   Wikipedia

  • Ocean Machine: Biomech — Studioalbum von Devin Townsend Veröffentlichung Juli 1997 Label HevyDevy Records …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • The Mysterious Mr. Quin —   …   Wikipedia

  • The Savage Time — is the first season finale of the animated series of Justice League . It first aired on November 9, 2002.PlotPart IThe Justice League is returning to Earth from a mission in a distant galaxy; the Javelin s engines having run out of fuel, Green… …   Wikipedia

  • Ocean 2: The Answer — Studio album by Eloy Released 1998 Recorded 1997/98 …   Wikipedia