Книга: Steve Backshall «Wilds of the Wolf»

Wilds of the Wolf

Серия: "The Falcon Chronicles"

Gripping adventure fiction from Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the third adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, adventure, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations. Saker and Sinter escape by the skin of their teeth when their plan to sabotage a billionaire businessman plundering 'black gold' (natural oil and gas) and hunting wolves in the remote Yamal peninsula in North West Siberia goes disastrously wrong. But they escape one kind of peril only to find themselves in an even more terrifying situation. Separated by blizzards and avalanches, lost in a breathtakingly beautiful but deadly frozen Arctic wilderness, suffering from frostbite and hunger, listening to the wolves howl and the packs draw closer, it seems that this time they cannot possibly live to tell their tale...

Издательство: "Orion Children's Books" (2014)

Формат: 135x205, 254 стр.

ISBN: 978-1-4440-0440-3

Купить за 672 руб на Озоне

Steve Backshall

Infobox Celebrity
name = Steve Backshall


caption = Expedition Borneo (BBC)
birth_date = birth date and age|1973|04|21
birth_place =
death_date =
death_place =
occupation = Naturalist, writer and TV presenter
salary =
networth =
spouse =
website =
footnotes =
children =

Steve Backshall is a British naturalist, writer and television presenter, notably on National Geographic Channel's "EarthPulse" program, Children's BBC's "The Really Wild Show", Discovery and BBC TVs series "Lost Land of the Jaguar", "Expedition Alaska", "Wilderness St Kilda" and "Expedition Borneo". He is also an author with the Rough Guides.

For National Geographic International, Steve presented the expedition series "Game For It" and the environmental series "EarthPulse". UK television viewers saw Steve travelling up Australia’s east coast from Tasmania to Cape Tribulation for his first series of "The Really Wild Show". In the next series he then went on to travel around Central America, the Galapagos, and then Southern Africa for the last ever series in 2006. Steve competed with fellow naturalist Nick Baker in a series of wildlife challenges, with long-standing host Michaela Strachan.

On-air adventures in 2006 included Sky One’s "Inside the King Cobra" and the BBC's "Expedition Borneo" (in search of new species). In 2007, the BBC expedition team headed to Guyana for "Lost Land of the Jaguar", during which Backshall took part in the first expedition ever to successfully climb Mount Upuigma, [ [http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/travel/destinations/latin_america/article2837116.ece "Conquering a virgin Venezuelan tepui"] , "The Times", November 11, 2007] and Steve also filmed "Extreme Caving" for BBC One with Kate Humble and "Secret Wilderness Japan" for BBC Two. During this time he also presented Nature Reports for the BBC's "The One Show". [ [http://www.josarsby.com/stevebackshall.html Jo Sarsby Management: Steve Backshall] ]

Between 28 May and 15 June 2007, he co-presented "Springwatch Trackers" alongside Kirsten O'Brien. Transmitted live on BBC Two from the "Springwatch" farm in Devon and repeated later in the day on the CBBC Channel, teams of boys and girls were set a series of Tracker challenges.

Steve is a rock climber and mountaineer, and does adventure races, fell runs and endurance sports. He ran the Marathon Des Sables in 2005 to raise money for the Wolftrust [ [http://www.wolftrust.org/stevebackshall Wolftrust] ] and has a black belt in judo. [ [http://www.myspace.com/stevebackshall MySpace.com: Steve Backshall] ] His book "Venom: Poisonous Creatures in the Natural World" was published by in 2007. [New Holland Publishers. ISBN 9781845377342] Steve lived in Japan for one year.

In July 2008, Steve fell 10m onto rocks after attempting to climb a steep cliff face which was wet from an earlier rainfall.The accident took place at the Wye Valley in the Forest of Dean.The force of the impact sent his heel bone straight through the bottom of his foot, while the jolt dislocated his ankle and fractured two vertebrae in his back. Luckily there was no spinal chord damage or Steve could have been left permanently paralysed from the neck down. He was taken to the Bristol Royal Infirmary, where it was confirmed that he should be fully recovered six weeks after the accident.

References

External links

* [http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/wild/rws/steve Biography]
* [http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/wild/rws/ "The Really Wild Show"]
* [http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1584127/ Steve Backshall on IMDb]
* [http://www.myspace.com/stevebackshall Steve's Myspace page]

Источник: Steve Backshall

Другие книги схожей тематики:

АвторКнигаОписаниеГодЦенаТип книги
Steve BackshallWilds of the WolfGripping adventure fiction from Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the third adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with… — Orion Children's Books, (формат: 135x205, 254 стр.) The Falcon Chronicles Подробнее...2014
672бумажная книга

См. также в других словарях:

  • The Wheel of Time Roleplaying Game — is a role playing game based on The Wheel of Time , a twelve volume epic fantasy series by American author Robert Jordan. The game consists of two publications by Wizards of the Coast, a core rulebook published in October 2001 and an expansion,… …   Wikipedia

  • Characters in the Realm of the Elderlings — This article discusses the characters in The Realm of the Elderlings, a fictional world created by Robin Hobb for her book series The Farseer Trilogy, The Liveship Traders Trilogy, The Tawny Man Trilogy and The Rain Wild Chronicles. This page… …   Wikipedia

  • Four Lords of the Diamond — The Four Lords of the Diamond is a series of four science fiction novels by author Jack L. Chalker. Like much of Chalker s work, the series deals with the effects physical transformations have on a character s personality.ettingThe series takes… …   Wikipedia

  • Francis Wright — THE WOMANA Brief Biography of Frances Wright, With Particular Emphasis on NashobaA Scottish (upper middle class) born radical free thinker who visited America in 1818 1820, became a passionate friend of Lafayette starting September 1821. Followed …   Wikipedia

  • List of zoos — The following is a partial list of zoological gardens (zoos):AfricaAlgeria*Algiers Zoo *Oran ZooCameroon*Mvog Betsi ZooCôte d Ivoire*Abidjan ZooEgypt*Giza Zoo *Alexandria Zoo *Qariyet El Assad (Lions Village)Ghana*Flagstaff House Zoo *Kumasi… …   Wikipedia

  • Columbus Zoo and Aquarium — Date opened May 1905; 1927 Location Powell, Ohio, USA Land area 82 acres (250 acres (1 km²) after expansion) …   Wikipedia

  • literature — /lit euhr euh cheuhr, choor , li treuh /, n. 1. writings in which expression and form, in connection with ideas of permanent and universal interest, are characteristic or essential features, as poetry, novels, history, biography, and essays. 2.… …   Universalium

  • List of 90210 characters — Season 3 cast image featuring the young cast who have been with the series the longest. From left to right: Trevor Donovan, Jessica Lowndes, Michael Steger, Jessica Stroup, AnnaLynne McCord, Matt Lanter, Shenae Grimes, Tristan Wilds and Gillian… …   Wikipedia

  • List of mammals of Connecticut — This List of mammals in Connecticut includes both native and nonnative species (introduced or invasive) found in the state now or in the past, but not domesticated or farm animals.Many mammals formerly extirpated in the state have returned,… …   Wikipedia

  • Gangrel (Old World of Darkness) — World of Darkness Vampire series Vampire Settings World of Darkness Clans World of Darkness Concepts Old World of Darkness Vampire: The Masquerade Clans Bloodlines Masquerade Society Cainite History Vampire Lore Genealogy New World of Darkness… …   Wikipedia

  • Cleveland Metroparks Zoo — Entrance Date opened 1882 …   Wikipedia


Поделиться ссылкой на выделенное

Прямая ссылка:
Нажмите правой клавишей мыши и выберите «Копировать ссылку»

We are using cookies for the best presentation of our site. Continuing to use this site, you agree with this.