Книга: Carr C. «The Alienist»

The Alienist

The year is 1896. The city is New York. Newspaper reporter John Schuyler MooreWhen The Alienist was first published in 1994, it was a major phenomenon, spending six months on the New York Times bestseller list, receiving critical acclaim, and selling millions of copies. This modern classic continues to be a touchstone of historical suspense fiction for readers everywhere. The year is 1896. The city is New York. Newspaper reporter John Schuyler Moore is summoned by his friend Dr. Laszlo Kreizler—a psychologist, or “alienist”—to view the horribly mutilated body of an adolescent boy abandoned on the unfinished Williamsburg Bridge. From there the two embark on a revolutionary effort in criminology: creating a psychological profile of the perpetrator based on the details of his crimes. Their dangerous quest takes them into the tortured past and twisted mind of a murderer who will kill again before their hunt is over. Fast-paced and riveting, infused with historical detail, The Alienist...

Формат: Мягкая бумажная, 502 стр.

ISBN: 9780525510277

Купить за 779 руб в

Другие книги схожей тематики:

АвторКнигаОписаниеГодЦенаТип книги
Kostova ElizabethThe Historian* The International Sensation* In the tradition of THE SECRET HISTORY and THE ALIENIST - a captivating and suspenseful novel that delves into the true history of Count Dracula . . . Late one night… — @Sphere, @ @ @ @ Подробнее...2010
1584бумажная книга
Kostova ElizabethThe Historian* The International Sensation* In the tradition of THE SECRET HISTORY and THE ALIENIST - a captivating and suspenseful novel that delves into the true history of Count Dracula . . . Late one night… — @Little, Brown and Company, @ @ @ @ Подробнее...2008
2029бумажная книга

См. также в других словарях:

  • The Alienist — Infobox Book | name = The Alienist image caption = 1st ed cover author = Caleb Carr country = United States language = English cover artist = series = genre = Historical novel Crime novel publisher = Random House release date = 15 March 1994… …   Wikipedia

  • Alienist — The term alienist was heading for obsolescence until it was returned to a position of some prominence by the 1994 book The Alienist by the historian/novelist Caleb Carr. The story of The Alienist starts In New York City in March 1896 when… …   Medical dictionary

  • The Angel of Darkness — Infobox Book | name = The Angel of Darkness title orig = translator = image caption = First edition cover author = Caleb Carr cover artist = country = United States language = English series = subject = genre = Crime novel publisher = Random… …   Wikipedia

  • Alienist — Al ien*ist, n. [F. ali[ e]niste.] One who treats diseases of the mind. Ed. Rev. [1913 Webster] …   The Collaborative International Dictionary of English

  • alienist — alien·ist / ā lē ə nist, āl yə / n: a psychiatrist who specializes in the legal aspects of psychiatry (as determining sanity or capacity to stand trial) Merriam Webster’s Dictionary of Law. Merriam Webster. 1996 …   Law dictionary

  • alienist — (n.) one who treats mental illness, mad doctor, 1864, from Fr. aliéniste, from alienation in the sense of insanity, loss of mental faculty, a sense attested in English from late 15c. (see ALIENATE (Cf. alienate)) …   Etymology dictionary

  • alienist — A doctor of medicine who has made mental diseases, those affecting the mind intellectually, and the moral or spiritual faculties, his special study and practice. State v Reidell, 14 Del (9 Houst) 470, 474, 14 A 550. A doctor of medicine qualified …   Ballentine's law dictionary

  • alienist — /ayl yeuh nist, ay lee euh /, n. 1. (formerly) a doctor specializing in the treatment of mental illness. 2. an expert witness in a sanity trial. [1860 65; ALIEN(ATION) + IST; cf. F aliéniste in same sense] * * * …   Universalium

  • alienist — al•ien•ist [[t]ˌeɪl yə nɪst, ˌeɪ li ə [/t]] n. 1) psi (formerly) a physician specializing in the treatment of mental illness; psychiatrist 2) law an expert witness in a sanity trial • Etymology: 1860–65; alien ( ation) + ist; cf. F aliéniste …   From formal English to slang

  • alienist — /eyKityanist/ A seldom used term meaning one who has specialized in the study of mental diseases. Persons qualified by experience, knowledge, and previous opportunities to express opinion as to defendant s mental condition at a particular time.… …   Black's law dictionary

  • alienist — /eyKityanist/ A seldom used term meaning one who has specialized in the study of mental diseases. Persons qualified by experience, knowledge, and previous opportunities to express opinion as to defendant s mental condition at a particular time.… …   Black's law dictionary


Поделиться ссылкой на выделенное

Прямая ссылка:
Нажмите правой клавишей мыши и выберите «Копировать ссылку»