Книга: Boyce Niamh «The Herbalist»

The Herbalist

Серия: "-"

The Herbalist is the electrifying first novel from Niamh Boyce, winner of the 2012 Hennesssy XO Award for New Irish Writing. A devastating and emotional story of yearning and obsession in 1930s rural Ireland, in its freshness and immediacy, The Herbalist will appeal to fans of Edna O'Brien and Patrick McCabe. Out of nowhere the herbalist appears and sets out his stall in the market square. In this dull midlands town the exotic stranger brings glamour and excitement. The townspeople call him The Don and with his potions and lotions he seems to have a cure for all that ails them. Teenager Emily is enchanted. In the herbalist she sees a Clark Gable to her Jean Harlow, a Fred to her Ginger - a man to make her forget her lowly status in this place where respectability is everything. But Emily has competition for the herbalist's attentions. The women of the town - the women from the big houses and their maids, the shopkeepers and their serving girls, those of easy virtue and their pious sisters - all seem mesmerised by this visitor who, they say, can perform miracles. When Emily discovers the dark side of the man who has infatuated her all summer, once again her world turns upside down. She may be naive and full of foolish dreams, but she has a fierce sense of right and wrong. And with the herbalist's fate lying in her hands she must make the biggest decision of her young life. To make him pay for his sins against the women of the town? Or let him escape to cast his spell on another town? The Herbalist is a riveting story about the shadow side of Irish life - the snobbery, the fear of sex, the tragedy of women destroyed by social convention and the bravery of those who defied it. It is an unforgettable story from a rare new talent. In addition to winning the 2012 Hennessy New Writing Award, Niamh Boyce has been shortlisted for the 2011 Francis McManus Short Story competition, the 2010 Hennessy Literary Awards, the 2010 Molly Keane Award and the 2010 WOW Award.

Издательство: "Penguin Group" (2013)

ISBN: 978-0-241-96458-3

Купить за 772 руб в My-shop

Другие книги автора:

КнигаОписаниеГодЦенаТип книги
The HerbalistThe Herbalist is the electrifying first novel from Niamh Boyce, winner of the 2012 Hennesssy XO Award for New Irish Writing. A devastating and emotional story of yearning and obsession in 1930s rural… — Penguin Group, Подробнее...2013999бумажная книга

См. также в других словарях:

  • The Herbalist — Soon to be celebrating it s 100th anniversary, the Indiana Botanic Gardens is the nation s largest and oldest retailer of herbs. The Founder, Joseph MeyerBorn in Wisconsin in 1878, Joseph Meyer acquired a curiosity about plants and nature at a… …   Wikipedia

  • The Herbalist's Manual — Infobox Television show name = The Herbalist s Manual 本草藥王 caption = The Herbalist s Manual poster genre = Costume Drama format = runtime = 45 minutes (approx.) creator = director = producer = writer = starring = Frankie Lam Michelle Ye Kenneth… …   Wikipedia

  • The Museum of Everything — Genre Comedy Running time 28 minutes Country  United Kingdom …   Wikipedia

  • The Fall of the House of Usher (opera) — Infobox Album | Name = The Fall of the House of Usher Type = Album Artist = Peter Hammill Released = Nov 1991/Nov 1999 Recorded = Genre = Art rock Length = Label = Some Bizzare/Fie! Producer = Reviews = Last album = Room Temperature (1990) This… …   Wikipedia

  • The Empire (Inheritance) — In the Inheritance cycle, The Empire is the major power on the fictional continent of Alagaësia. It is ruled by King Galbatorix.HistoryAfter Galbatorix enlisted Morzan and the Forsworn and defeated Vrael in Utgard Mountain, he murdered the king… …   Wikipedia

  • The Sum of All Men — infobox Book | name = The Sum of All Men title orig = translator = image caption = US Hardcover Edition author = David Farland cover artist = Darrell K. Sweet country = United States language = English series = The Runelords genre = Epic fantasy… …   Wikipedia

  • The Dark Age (series) — The Dark Age is a trilogy by Mark Chadbourn set around the beginning of the third millennium. While the previous series was a clear fantasy story, this has strings of gothic horror and existentialism woven into it.The three books are:* The Devil… …   Wikipedia

  • Herbalist — Herb al*ist, n. One skilled in the knowledge of plants; a collector of, or dealer in, herbs, especially medicinal herbs. [1913 Webster] …   The Collaborative International Dictionary of English

  • The Runelords — is a fantasy series by author David Farland. In the universe of The Runelords, there exists a unique magical system which relies on the existence of distinct bodily attributes, such as brawn, grace, and wit. These attributes can be transferred… …   Wikipedia

  • The Country of the Pointed Firs — is an 1896 novel by Sarah Orne Jewett which is considered by some literary critics to be her finest work. Henry James described it as her beautiful little quantum of achievement. Because it is loosely structured, many critics view the book not as …   Wikipedia

  • The Door Within Trilogy — is a set of three novels written by American author Wayne Thomas Batson describing the adventures of teenager Aidan Thomas through the Realm , a world correlated to ours. The titles of the books are The Door Within , The Rise of the Wyrm Lord ,… …   Wikipedia


Поделиться ссылкой на выделенное

Прямая ссылка:
Нажмите правой клавишей мыши и выберите «Копировать ссылку»