Книга: Rossiter Joanna «The Sea Change»

The Sea Change

Серия: "-"

A tsunami and a war, a mother and a daughter, a husband and a wife: Joanna Rossiter's haunting novel explores how these relationships are welded and dissolved by extraordinary circumstances beyond human control. Beautifully observed and moving, A Lost Place is a novel for fans of Sadie Jones'The Outcast, Amanda Hodgkinson's 22 Britannia Road and Natasha Solomons'The Novel in the Viola. Yesterday was Alice's wedding day. She is thousands of miles away from the home she is so desperate to leave, on the southernmost tip of India, when she wakes in the morning to see a wave on the horizon, taller than the height of her guest house on Kanyakumari beach. Her husband is nowhere to be seen. On the other side of the world, unhappily estranged from her daughter, is Alice's mother, Violet. Forced to leave the idyllic Wiltshire village, Imber, in which she grew up after it was requisitioned by the army during World War Two, Violet is haunted by the shadow of the man she loved and the wilderness of a home that lies in ruins. Amid the debris of the wave, Alice recollects the events of the hippie trail that led to her hasty marriage as she struggles to piece together the fate of the husband she barely knows. Meanwhile, Violet must return to Imber in order to let go of the life that is no longer hers - and begin the search for her daughter. Joanna Rossiter grew up in Dorset and studied English at Cambridge University before working as a researcher in the House of Commons and as a copy writer. In 2011 she completed an MA in Writing at Warwick University. A Lost Place is her first novel. She lives and writes in London.

Издательство: "Penguin Group" (2013)

ISBN: 978-0-241-96415-6

Купить за 742 руб в My-shop

Другие книги автора:

КнигаОписаниеГодЦенаТип книги
The Sea ChangeA tsunami and a war, a mother and a daughter, a husband and a wife: Joanna Rossiter`s haunting novel explores how these relationships are welded and dissolved by extraordinary circumstances beyond… — Penguin Group, Подробнее...2013961бумажная книга

См. также в других словарях:

  • The Sea Change — Allgemeine Informationen Genre(s) Storyteller Gründung 1997 Website Homepage …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • Sea change — or seachange may refer to:* Sea change (transformation) * Seachange (demography) * Seachange (band) * Titled expressive works: ** Novels: *** Sea Change (Parker novel), by Robert B. Parker *** Sea Change (Armstrong novel), for children *** Sea… …   Wikipedia

  • Sea Change Beachfront Apartments (Cairns Beaches) — Sea Change Beachfront Apartments country: Australia, city: Cairns Beaches (Trinity Beach) Sea Change Beachfront Apartments A popular beachfront accommodation, this property allows you to discover the natural beauty of a palm fringed beach with… …   International hotels

  • sea-change — sea change, 1. a change brought about by the sea: »Nothing of him that doth fade but doth suffer a sea change into something rich and strange (Shakespeare). 2. Figurative. any radical or complete change; transformation: »In its transition to the… …   Useful english dictionary

  • Sea Change — Студийный альбом Beck Дата выпуска …   Википедия

  • Sea Change — Álbum de estudio de Beck Publicación 24 de septiembre de 2002 Grabación Ocean Way Studio, Los Ángeles, California (06 de marzo 07 de mayo de 2002) Género(s) …   Wikipedia Español

  • Sea change — Студийный Дата выпуска 24 сентября 2002 года Записан весна лето 2002 Жанр Альтернативный рок Длительность …   Википедия

  • Sea change (transformation) — Sea change or seachange is a poetical or informal term meaning a profound transformation; big significant change. The expression is Shakespeare s, taken from the song in The Tempest , when Ariel sings, Full fathom five thy father lies, Of his… …   Wikipedia

  • The Sea Voyage — is a late Jacobean comedy written by John Fletcher and Philip Massinger. The play is notable for its imitation of Shakespeare s The Tempest. Performance and publication The Sea Voyage was licensed for performance by the Master of the Revels on… …   Wikipedia

  • Sea Change — Album par Beck Sortie 24 septembre 2002 Durée 52:24 Genre rock alternatif Producteur Nigel Godrich …   Wikipédia en Français

  • The Old Man and the Sea (disambiguation) — The Old Man and the Sea may refer to: The Old Man and the Sea, novella by Ernest Hemingway The Old Man and the Sea (1958 film), directed by John Sturges, starring Spencer Tracy The Old Man and the Sea (1999 film), paint on glass animated short… …   Wikipedia


Поделиться ссылкой на выделенное

Прямая ссылка:
Нажмите правой клавишей мыши и выберите «Копировать ссылку»